United We Stand

Hey all!!

So yesterday at 7 there was this super awesome guy name Curt Patrouille. He was a burn victim from the Army. Although his story would have been amazing, he didn’t talk at all about the Army or his accident. Instead he talked about resilience.

Loosely, resilience can be defined as the ability to bounce back from hardships. In my opinion, what made him such a great speaker was that he didn’t talk about his own personal hardships and how he bounced back alot. Instead he focused on us, the audience. He wanted to help us gain resilience.

One big thing that stood out to me was one method of resilience. Every day, or at least every other day, write down three things that went well that day. It doesn’t have to be big things; but of course it can be. It could be as simple as, “I made it to class on time even when I was running late,” or something else like “Wow, the food at Stations today was incredible!”

So for all of you, I give you an assignment. If you show me a week’s worth of 3 positive things each day on a piece of paper, I will give you a sticker for a free prize, plus a candy bar! Like I said, it doesn’t have to be big things, just anything that made you smile that day. After all, if you’re happy, then I’m happy!!! 🙂

~RA Joe

Leave a Reply

